‘This feels more like spin-the-bottle than science’: my mission to find a proper diagnosis – and treatment – for my son’s psychosis.

This Guardian article tell the story of a mother’s experience with her son’s schizophrenia, and how the drug treatment he received was worse than the illness. It also describes a much more humane treatment programme – Open Dialogue – exists in Finland.

I recall the way his shoulders slumped when I held out the pills and a glass of water to him each day. “They make me feel emotionally numb,” he said. “I can’t live like this.” One evening he pushed the drugs back at me, held the water glass to my chin and said: “If they are that great, why don’t you take them?”

‘This feels more like spin-the-bottle than science’: my mission to find a proper diagnosis – and treatment – for my son’s psychosis.

Published by

GraveneyMackay

I teach psychology at Graveney School in Tooting, London.